Galaxy say they were cheated in loss

While Real Salt Lake players and coaches praised the linesman’s decision Wednesday night for not calling Javier Morales offside, the L.A. Galaxy completely disagreed with the decision.

Defender Todd Dunivant was quoted in an mlssoccer.com article as saying that the referee got it wrong and admitted so afterward.

Whether the ref did or didn’t admit a mistake as Dunivant claims, video replays showed that it was an accidental backpass from Michael Stephens and not a pass from RSL’s Pablo Campos that set up Morales’ winning goal.

It will be very, very interesting to see if the goal is dissected in the Referee Week in Review at ussoccer.com.

Each week U.S. Soccer picks one or two refereeing decision around the country at various levels and painstakingly analyzes whether the ref made a correct or incorrect call by the letter of the law.

The analysis is provided by U.S. Soccer director of referee development Paul Tamberino and U.S. Soccer manager of assessment and training Brian Hall.

Leave a comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.

*