MLS Cup to take tour of Utah

Beginning this Monday, officials from Real Salt Lake will be taking the MLS Cup championship trophy on a tour across the state visiting all 28 counties for fans to check out.

The tour begins on Monday in Manila (Daggett County) and Vernal (Uintah County) and will conclude on Feb. 28 in Salt Lake City.

Along with sponsors KUTV, Kall 700 Sports, Strong Volkswagen, Siegried & Jensen and KFC Restaurants, the Philip F. Anschutz Trophy will making 35 stops along the way — including a photo op at Delicate Arch in Moab and a ride down the bobsled track at Olympic Park.

“Since we brought the MLS Cup back from Seattle in November, we have wanted to ensure that our fans from all across the State of Utah feel pride and ownership in what the club has achieved,” said Real Salt Lake president Bill Manning. “Fostering and nurturing the support of all Utahns is of the utmost importance to us, and we hope this tour can provide a small measure of thanks to our followers from Logan, to St. George, to all points in between.”

For more details, log onto RSL’s official blog

WEEK ONE
Sunday, Jan. 31: Appearance on KUTV 2’s Talkin’ Sports (10:35 p.m. MT)
Monday, Feb. 1: Kickoff in Salt Lake City @ KUTV 2News Studios; then to
Manila (Daggett County) and Vernal (Uintah County)
Tuesday, Feb. 2: Duchesne (Duchesne County) and Price (Carbon County)
Wednesday, Feb. 3: Castle Dale (Emery County) and Moab (Grand County)
Thursday, Feb. 4: Monticello (San Juan County) and Kanab (Kane County)
Fri./Sat., Feb. 5-6: St. George (Washington County)
Sunday, Feb. 7: Off day

WEEK TWO
Monday, Feb. 8: Cedar City and Parowan (Iron County)
Tuesday, Feb. 9: Panguitch (Garfield County) and Junction (Piute County)
Wednesday, Feb. 10: Loa (Wayne County) and Richfield (Sevier County)
Thursday, Feb. 11: Beaver (Beaver County) and Fillmore (Millard County)
Friday, Feb. 12: Nephi (Juab County) and Manti and Ephraim (Sanpete County)
Feb. 13-15: Off days

WEEK THREE
Tuesday, Feb. 16: Provo and Orem (Utah County)
Wednesday, Feb. 17: Park City (Summit) and Heber City (Wasatch Counties)
Thursday, Feb. 18: Tooele (Tooele County)
Friday, Feb. 19: Bountiful (Davis County)
February 20-21: Off days

WEEK FOUR
Monday, Feb. 22: Layton and Hill Air Force Base (Davis County)
Tuesday, Feb. 23: Ogden (Weber County)
Wednesday, Feb. 24: Ogden and Morgan (Morgan County)
Thursday, Feb. 25: Brigham City and Tremonton (Box Elder County)
Friday, Feb. 26: Logan (Cache County)
Saturday, Feb. 27: Randolph (Rich County)
Sunday, Feb. 28: Salt Lake City – KUTV 2 Studios – Talkin’ Sports (Salt Lake County)

Leave a comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.

*