RSL shut out of year-end awards

MLS unveiled its finalists for 2008 year-end awards on Thursday, and surprisingly ‘ but not entirely surprisingly ‘ Real Salt Lake was shutout of the various lists. Despite some quality candidates including guys like Jason Kreis, Javier Morales and Nick Rimando, none of those three were voted in the top three for their respective categories.

According to a league press release, the finalists were determined by voting by MLS players, general managers, coaches, referees and members of the media.

Here is a list of the finalists. What is your take on the matter? What categories if any do you believe RSL players and coaches were unjustly overlooked?

Panasonic Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists
Jon Busch ‘ Chicago Fire
William Hesmer – Columbus Crew
Matt Reis – New England Revolution

Fair Play Finalists – Individual
Juan Pablo Angel – New York Red Bulls
Michael Parkhurst ‘ New England Revolution
Chris Rolfe – Chicago Fire

MLS Comeback Player of the Year Finalists
Jon Busch – Chicago Fire
Kenny Cooper ‘ FC Dallas
Santino Quaranta ‘ D.C. United

Visa Defender of the Year Finalists
Jimmy Conrad – Kansas City Wizards
Chad Marshall ‘ Columbus Crew
Bakary Soumare – Chicago Fire

adidas Referee of the Year Finalists
Michael Kennedy
Jair Marrufo
Terry Vaughn

Gatorade Rookie of the Year Finalists
Geoff Cameron ‘ Houston Dynamo
Kheli Dube ‘ New England Revolution
Sean Franklin ‘ Los Angeles Galaxy

MLS Coach of the Year Finalists
Dominic Kinnear – Houston Dynamo
Sigi Schmid – Columbus Crew
Frank Yallop – San Jose Earthquakes

Volkswagen MLS Most Valuable Player Finalists
Cuauht’moc Blanco ‘ Chicago Fire
Landon Donovan ‘ Los Angeles Galaxy
Guillermo Barros Schelotto ‘ Columbus Crew

Newcomer of the Year
Darren Huckerby ‘ San Jose Earthquakes
Claudio Lopez ‘ Kansas City Wizards
Andre Rocha ‘ FC Dallas

Leave a comment encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.