Was he offside or not?

Following RSL’s disappointing 0-0 draw with San Jose on Wednesday night, the biggest talking point afterward was about Salt Lake’s goal that wasn’t.
Kyle Beckerman appeared to have broken the deadlock in RSL’s favor when he tapped home Robbie Findley’s header in the 72nd minute and assistant referee Fabio Tovar didn’t raise his flag.
The A.R. appeared to start shuffling back to midfield, and Rice-Eccles Stadium went into celebration mode.
However, after the assistant conferred with center referee Jasen Anno, they disallowed the goal and awarded a free kick to San Jose for an offside infraction.
That led many to wonder whether the decision, which was inconclusive based on the replays I saw, had been reversed.
Per MLS policy, the referee was questioned by a pool reporter afterward, and here is his response:
‘The decision was not overturned, but when the ball was put into the goal the assistant referee did not think that Kyle Beckerman touched the ball. The center (referee) came over to discuss the play. Assistant referee asked if Kyle Beckerman touched the ball, as he was in an offside position. The referee confirmed that Beckerman did touch the ball, so the decision was made to disallow the goal and award the offside infraction.’

Leave a comment

DeseretNews.com encourages a civil dialogue among its readers. We welcome your thoughtful comments.

*